Get the latest updates as we post them right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Navalny, Kasparov Win Seats in Opposition's 'Shadow Government'

MTVoters lined up at a polling station on Saturday to cast ballots in elections for the opposition coordination council.

Well-known opposition figures like anti-corruption blogger Alexei Navalny andformer chess champion Garry Kasparov joined lower-profile personalities like former Kremlin G8 sherpa Andrei Illarionov andpolitical analyst Andrei Piontkovsky ina new 45-member “shadow government,” according toelectionresults.

Theonline election, which was extended intoa third day Monday after hacker attacks disrupted weekend voting, saw aturnout of83 percent, thehead ofthe shadow elections commission, Leonid Volkov, said onTwitter.

Ofthe 97,727 registered voters whose identities were verified, 81,801 ended up voting, according tothe elections commission’s website, all, 209 candidates ran for seats on the coordination council.

Volkov, who also announced theresults live onDozhd television late Monday, said theopposition’s support went far beyond Moscow, thesite ofthe biggest protests against President Vladimir Putin. Volkov said only about 35 percent ofvotes were cast inthe capital.

Thecoordination council is anattempt bythe opposition toorganize intoa force capable ofmaintaining its momentum after atumultuous 11 months that started with mass rallies after disputed State Duma elections inDecember.

Those rallies prompted theKremlin topromise political reform but also topass aseries oftough laws that have tightened thescrews onprotests andnongovernmental groups.

Navalny won themost support inthe opposition election, with 43,723 votes, andwill sit onthe coordination council with thelikes ofsocialite Ksenia Sobchak, Solidarity leader Ilya Yashin, environmentalist Yevgenia Chirikova, Parnas co-leader Boris Nemtsov, Left Front leader Sergei Udaltsov, recently ousted State Duma Deputy Gennady Gudkov andhis son, Duma Deputy Dmitry Gudkov.

Two ultranationalists, Alexander Belov (Potkin) andDmitry Dyomushkin, did not gain enough votes tosecure seats.

The Coordination Council (ranked in order of votes)

Regular members

  • Alexei Navalny
  • Dmitry Bykov
  • Garry Kasparov
  • Ksenia Sobchak
  • Ilya Yashin
  • Mikhail Gelfand
  • Yevgenia Chirikova
  • Mikhail Shats
  • Vladimir Ashurkov
  • Dmitry Gudkov
  • Tatyana Lazareva
  • Sergei Parkhomenko
  • Filipp Dzyadko
  • Gennady Gudkov
  • Lyubov Sobol
  • Boris Nemtsov
  • Olga Romanova
  • Oleg Kashin
  • Andrei Illarionov
  • Sergei Udaltsov
  • Vladimir Kara-Murza
  • Rustem Adagamov
  • Alexander Vinokurov
  • Maxim Kats
  • Suren Gazaryan
  • Georgy Alburov
  • Andrei Piontkovsky
  • Vladimir Mirsoyev
  • Oleg Shein
  • Vladislav Naganov

(Navalny won 43,723 votes; Naganov won 15,541)


  • Sergei Davidis
  • Andrei Pivovarov
  • Anton Dolgikh
  • Anna Karetnikova
  • Pyotr Tsarkov

(Davidis – 27,216 votes, Tsarkov – 17,729)


  • Alexei Gaskarov
  • Yekaterina Aitova
  • Alexander Nikolayev
  • Akim Palchayev
  • Leonid Razvozzhayev

(Gaskarov – 22,935 votes; Razvozzhayev – 12,760)


  • Daniil Konstantinov
  • Igor Artemov
  • Nikolai Bondarik
  • Konstantin Krylov
  • Vladlen Kralin (Vladimir Tor)

(Konstantinov – 21,433 votes; Kralin – 10,593)


Related articles: