Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

6 Duma Committees for Opposition

Six of the 32 committee chairmanships in the newly elected State Duma will go to parties other than United Russia, which chaired every single committee in the previous Duma, a senior United Russia official said Wednesday.

Three new committees -- on youth affairs, high-tech and transportation -- have been added in the Duma as part of a restructuring aimed at accomplishing "the daunting tasks that United Russia has set for itself for the next four years," said Andrei Vorobyov, the head of United Russia's executive committee.

"A number of the committees will go to the opposition," Vorobyov said.

While formally opposition parties in the Duma, the Communists, LDPR and A Just Russia are widely seen as operating within boundaries set by the Kremlin.

Vorobyov declined to say which parties would get which committee chairmanships. But a senior United Russia official told Interfax that the Communists would likely get the Science and HighTech Committee and the Industry Committee, the LDPR would take the CIS Affairs and Relations With Russian Nationals Abroad Committee and the Youth Affairs Committee, and A Just Russia would head up the Women, Family and Children Committee.

The heads of the Duma's 32 committees will likely be announced Dec. 24, when the newly elected Duma convenes for the first time, Vorobyov said.

United Russia will keep the chairmanships of the more powerful committees and leave in place their chairmen from the last Duma, Interfax reported.

Vladimir Vasilyev will remain head of the Security Committee; Vladimir Pligin of the Constitution and State Affairs Committee; Pavel Krasheninnikov of the Legislation Committee; Vladislav Reznik of the Financial Markets Committee; and Martin Shakkum of the Industry, Construction and Technology Committee, which has been renamed the Construction and Land Committee.