Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

11 Parties Registered

The Central Elections Commission has confirmed the registration of 11 parties to take part in State Duma elections on Dec. 2, Interfax reported Sunday.

Commission chief Vladimir Churov said three parties were denied registration because of problems with their applications.

The registered parties are: the Agrarian Party; A Just Russia; Citizen's Power; the Communist Party; the Democratic Party; the Liberal Democratic Party; the Party of Social Justice; Patriots of Russia; the Union of Right Forces; United Russia; and Yabloko. It refused to register the Russian Party of Peace and Unity, the National Union and the Russian Green Party.

The 450 seats in the Duma will be distributed on a proportional basis among parties that receive at least 7 percent of the vote.