Install

Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Uzbekistan Referee Blunder

TOKYO -- FIFA has declared the result of Saturday's Asian World Cup qualifying playoff between Uzbekistan and Bahrain void, and the association ordered a replay following a refereeing blunder.

Soccer's governing body ruled on Tuesday that Japanese referee Toshimitsu Yoshida made a "technical error" in disallowing a converted Uzbekistan penalty and subsequently awarding Bahrain a free kick instead of ordering the penalty to be retaken because of encroachment.

Uzbekistan's 1-0 home victory has been wiped out, and Wednesday's second leg in Bahrain has been postponed. The matches will instead be played on Oct. 8 and 12.

"Taking into consideration that the referee ... had indeed committed a technical error, as a consequence, the match needed to be replayed," FIFA said in a statement explaining its unusual intervention.

Yoshida disallowed Server Djeparov's 39th-minute penalty in Tashkent and awarded Bahrain an indirect free kick for what FIFA said was encroachment into the penalty area by an Uzbek player.

"In such a situation, the laws of the game require the referee to order the penalty kick to be retaken," FIFA said.

An indirect free kick to Bahrain would have been correct had the penalty been missed.

The Uzbekistan captain protested to the referee at the time, and the error was confirmed by the match commissioner and referee inspector after the match.

Yoshida refused to elaborate on his decision after the game and remained tightlipped about the dispute on Tuesday.

"At the moment, I am not in a position to make a direct comment on it," Yoshida said.