Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Nobel Winners Gather For 100th Ceremony

STOCKHOLM, Sweden -- The concentration of genius per square meter in Stockholm may reach record levels Monday when most living winners of the Nobel prizes in sciences and literature meet for the centennial awards ceremony.

A gathering of all living laureates of the coveted prizes for physics, chemistry, medicine, economics and literature has happened only three times before in the award's 100-year history, but never attracted this year's numbers.

Out of the 225 laureates of all Nobel disciplines still alive, 162 will attend the ceremony in Stockholm and 30 will go to Oslo for the Nobel Peace prize ceremony.

The last time all living laureates were invited for the ceremony was 10 years ago, when 130 laureates came.

The usual cost of the Nobel week of festivities, which, apart from the awards ceremony and banquet includes seminars and lectures, is some 7 million Swedish crowns ($660,000) but this year it will be more than double that amount.

The bulk will be spent on accommodation of the laureates and their families in the traditional hotel of Nobel prize winners, Stockholm's Grand Hotel, which boasts a beautiful view over the port and the Old Town with the Royal Castle.

But some of the funds will go to finance security arrangements, heightened after the Sept. 11 attacks on the United States.

"The events of Sept. 11 are making their mark on our books," said Michael Sohlman, executive director of the Nobel Foundation. "We are taking extraordinary measures to make our guests feel they are taken care of."

Apart from the prestige, the Nobel awards include a diploma and a gold medal with the laureate's name engraved on it.

This year's prizes are worth a record 10 million Swedish crowns ($944,400) each, which is shared if there is more than one winner in any discipline.

The awards will be presented by King Carl XVI Gustaf in Stockholm's elegant Concert Hall on Monday in the presence of some 1,700 formally dressed guests, including Prime Minister Goran Persson and Foreign Minister Anna Lindh.

Because of the special security arrangements, for the first time everybody except the royal family and top government and parliament officials will have to produce identification to enter, including the laureates.

The first to receive the awards will be this year's winners of the Nobel prize in physics, Eric Cornell and Carl Wieman of the United States and Germany's Wolfgang Ketterle, for freezing matter into a new state that may help make tiny computers.

They will be followed by chemistry laureates William Knowles and Barry Sharpless of the United States and Ryoji Noyori of Japan, who won the honor for work which made it possible to cheaply produce medicine for millions.

The medicine winners, Leland Hartwell of the United States and Britons Tim Hunt and Sir Paul Nurse, will receive their prizes for research that could help cure cancer, and the highest accolade in literature will go to Trinidad-born writer Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul.

Finally, George Akerlof, Michael Spence and Joseph Stiglitz of the U.S. will receive the economics prize for their analysis of how markets function when some people know more than others.