Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

City-Specific Visas End

MOSCOW -- Starting next month, Russian visas will no longer list the cities that foreigners are allowed to visit, an official said Thursday.

Until now, Russian visas included a line called "points of visit," which listed the cities -- typically between one and six -- that the holder of the visa was allowed to visit. Visitors had to get special permission to travel to a city not listed on the visa.

Last year, President Boris Yeltsin signed a decree saying foreigners could move freely around the country, regardless of which cities were listed on their visas. But many airport officials remained unaware of the new regulation, and continued to block foreigners from traveling around.