Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Portuguese Unity

LISBON () -- Portugal and six former colonies, including Brazil, joined Wednesday in a commonwealth of Portuguese-speaking countries to protect their common language and promote cooperation between their 200 million people.

Heads of state and leaders from the countries of Portugal, Brazil, and the African nations of Angola, Mozambique, Guinea-Bissau, Cape Verde and Sao Tome & Principe attended the official signing ceremony.

The Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries, which echoes the British Commonwealth and Francophone associations, is intended to strengthen the international role of Portuguese.