Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Aussie Rebels Return

SYDNEY () -- The Australian Rugby League season will proceed with 20 teams beginning on March 22 after eight rebel Super League-aligned clubs confirmed Friday that they would play.

The rebels had until Friday to return to the ARL or be kicked out but notified officials that they would comply with Federal Court orders and request their players to return to the ARL.

With the clubs back on board -- at least until a Super League appeal in May -- it was not yet known whether some of the game's leading players would again take the field under the ARL banner.