Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Permanent MFN Status

WASHINGTON () -- A bill to permanently grant U.S. most favored nation trade status to Russia and 16 other countries that now need annual approval by Congress was introduced Thursday by an Illinois Republican.

Besides Russia, the countries include former communist nations such as Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Bulgaria, Georgia, Romania and Russia as well as China and Mongolia.

Countries granted most favored nation status get the lowest U.S. tariffs for their goods.