Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Close at Daytona

DAYTONA BEACH, Florida () -- The winning trio of South African Wayne Taylor and Americans Scott Sharp and Jim Pace had virtually no time to relax until the 24-hour event at Daytona International Speedway ended.

The three co-drove an Oldsmobile Mark III, the first American-made car to win this event, to the narrowest victory in the 34 years of America's premier endurance race, beating a Ferrari 333SP by just 1 minute, 5.518 seconds on Sunday.

That broke the 1989 record of 1:26 setby Frenchman Bob Wollek, Englishman Derek Bell and American John Andretti in a Porsche 932 Prototype.

The winning car covered 697 laps and 3993.1 kilometers -- neither a record -- on the 5.7 kilometer road circuit. Its average speed was 133.3 kph.