Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Hall Honor For Gibbs, 4 Players

TEMPE, Arizona -- Coach Joe Gibbs and two of his ex-players, tackle Dan Dierdorf and wide receiver Charlie Joiner, are headed for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, along with old-time offensive lineman Lou Creekmur and defensive back Mel Renfro.

Among the 10 nominees rejected by the 36-member board of selectors Saturday were four members of Pittsburgh's four Super Bowl champions -- wide receivers Lynn Swann and John Stallworth, center Mike Webster and defensive end L.C. Greenwood.

Gibbs won three Super Bowls with the Washington Redskins, each of them with a different quarterback. The Redskins went all the way with Joe Theismann in 1983, Doug Williams in 1988 and Mark Rypien in 1992. Gibbs retired after that to pursue auto racing.

It was as an assistant coach first with the St. Louis Cardinals and later with the San Diego Chargers that Gibbs worked with Dierdorf and Joiner. Dierdorf played 13 seasons for the Cardinals and now works as a broadcaster.

Joiner played 18 seasons for Houston, Cincinnati and San Diego, finishing his career with 750 catches for 12,146 yards and 65 touchdowns. He played more seasons than any other receiver. At one time, he was the all-time reception leader but now stands fifth, behind Jerry Rice, Art Monk, Steve Largent and James Lofton. Renfro spent 14 seasons in the league as a cornerback and safety for Dallas.

Creekmur was the lone senior nominee. He played tackle and guard from 1950 to 1959 for the Detroit Lions.