Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Austria Joins Schengen

BRUSSELS () -- Austria became the tenth member of the border-free Schengen group of countries Friday.

Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, France, Germany, Spain and Portugal have signed and implemented the Schengen accord which came into effect on March 26. Italy and Greece have signed but not yet implemented the agreement.

The accord scraps border controls between members, sets up a common, shared police information system and gives police the right to pursue a fugitive into a neighboring Schengen state.