Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Nebraska, Florida to Decide Champion in Fiesta Bowl

NEW YORK -- The much-maligned bowl alliance was supposed to produce a national championship game, and that's what it did.

Top-ranked Nebraska (11-0) and No. 2 Florida (12-0) will play for the U.S. college football title Jan. 2 in the Fiesta Bowl.

The winner of the game between the nation's only undefeated, untied teams will be the undisputed champ of American college football.

The Nebraska-Florida matchup would have been impossible under the old system of conference tie-ins.

Nebraska would have gone to the Orange Bowl as the Big Eight Conference champion and Florida would have gone to the Sugar Bowl as the Southeastern Conference winner.

Now, except for the Rose Bowl's agreement with the Pacific 10 Conference and the Big Ten Conference, league champions are free to play each other in the Fiesta-Orange-Sugar bowl alliance.

The Fiesta Bowl's dream game became a reality Saturday night when Florida beat Arkansas 34-3 for the SEC championship.

Florida is seeking its first national title, while Nebraska is trying to become the first team to win consecutive championships since Alabama in 1978-79.

There have been 10 other 1-2 matchups in bowl history.

The most recent was No. 1 Florida State's 18-16 victory over No. 2 Nebraska in the 1994 Orange Bowl.

The Orange and Sugar bowls made their selections Sunday.

(For full pairings, see Scorecard.)