Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Marino, Barry Sanders Voted NFL's Most Valuable

NEW YORK -- Miami Dolphins quarterback Dan Marino and Detroit Lions running back Barry Sanders were voted Most Valuable Player in their conferences in balloting by the National Football League Players' Association on Thursday.

Marino threw for 4,453 yards and 30 touchdowns in leading the Dolphins to the American Football Conference East title. Sanders led the league in rushing with 1,883 yards on 331 carries to earn National Football Conference MVP honors. Sanders also had 10 games with at least 100 yards rushing.

Players voted for awards in eight categories for each conference. The following is the complete list of 1995 NFLPA award winners:

AFC Most Valuable Player: Dan Marino, Miami Dolphins. Special Teams' Player of the Year: Eric Metcalf, Cleveland Browns. Offensive Lineman of the Year: Richmond Webb, Miami Dolphins. Offensive Rookie of the Year: Marshall Faulk, Indianapolis Colts. Defensive Lineman of the Year: Bruce Smith, Buffalo Bills. Linebacker of the Year (tie): Kevin Greene, Pittsburgh Steelers; Junior Seau, San Diego Chargers. Defensive Back of the Year: Rod Woodson, Pittsburgh Steelers. Defensive Rookie of the Year: Antonio Langham, Cleveland Browns.

NFC Most Valuable Player: Barry Sanders, Detroit Lions. Special Teams' Player of the Year: Mel Gray, Detroit Lions. Offensive Lineman of the Year: Willie Roaf, New Orleans Saints. Offensive Rookie of the Year: Errict Rhett, Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Defensive Lineman of the Year: Reggie White, Green Bay Packers. Linebacker of the Year: Ken Harvey, Washington Redskins. Defensive Back of the Year: Deion Sanders, San Francisco 49ers. Defensive Rookie of the Year: Bryant Young, San Francisco 49ers.


Twelve former Pro Bowl players, including Arizona's Gary Clark, Atlanta's Chris Doleman and Cleveland's Michael Dean Perry and Mark Rypien, will be available in next month's NFL expansion draft involving the Carolina Panthers and Jacksonville Jaguars.

Each of the 28 established teams must make six players available in the draft. All have submitted their lists except Super Bowl opponents San Francisco and San Diego, which have until Jan. 31.

Other former Pro Bowlers on the expansion list are Karl Mecklenburg of Denver, Rodney Holman of Detroit, Chris Miller of the Rams, Max Montoya of the Raiders, Johnny Johnson of the Jets, Ferrell Edmunds of Seattle, and Ethan Horton and Leonard Marshall of Washington.

The list also includes 12 former first-round draft picks -- Doleman, Miller, Horton, Terrell Buckley of Green Bay, Derek Brown of the Giants, Eugene Chung of New England, Gerald Robinson of the Rams, Jon Hand of Indianapolis, Desmond Howard of Washington, Louis Oliver of Cincinnati, Rod Bernstine of Denver, and William Perry of Philadelphia. (Reuters, AP)