Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Solzhenitsyn Rejects Prize

Alexander Solzhenitsyn has refused a literature prize from a nationalist organization, saying that other candidates need the award more, Komsomolskaya Pravda newspaper reported Tuesday.

The Tolstoy Prize was created in 1992 by members of the nationalist Writers' Union of Russia and the Golos publishing house.

Previous Tolstoy Prize winners include such activist nationalist authors as Vasily Belov and Yury Bondarev. Winners of the prize receive 10 million rubles ($5,000).