Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Robinson Is 1993's No. 1

DALLAS -- Junior forward Glenn Robinson of Purdue, the nation's leading scorer with a 30.3 points per game average, was named the winner of the Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year Award.

Forwards Grant Hill of Duke and Donyell Marshall of Connecticut, guard Jason Kidd of California and center Eric Montross of North Carolina were the other finalists for the Naismith Award.Nolan Richardson of Arkansas received the Coach of the Year award. Richardson coached the Razorbacks to the Southeastern Conference West title and a berth in the Final Four this season.

After receiving the Naismith Award on Sunday, Robinson indicated he plans to remain at Purdue for his senior year of college eligibility.

Robinson was expected to be the No. 1 overall selection had he decided to enter the National Basketball Association draft.

"I know it's hard to turn down money, but the money will still be there if I wait another year," Robinson told CBS Television.

The 6-foot-8 (2.03-meter) Robinson is a unanimous All-American and Big 10 Player of the Year. He set a school and Big 10 conference single-season record with 1,030 points.

He scored 40 points in Purdue's NCAA tournament regional semifinal victory, but was held to a season-low 13 points in losing to Duke in the regional final on Saturday.