Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Davis Cup Briefing

?Founded 1900 by Harvard student Dwight Filley Davis as a way to match the America's Cup yacht race between the United States and Great Britain.

?Until 1972, the winner only had to defend title in the final-round championship. The sole winners had been countries that hosted the Grand Slam tennis events: United States, Great Britain, France and Australia.

?In 1981, Davis Cup was reorganized with sponsorship by NEC, leading to the creation of an elite World Group of the strongest 16 nations, with promotion from and relegation to zonal groups.

?Besides Russia, the only former Eastern bloc countries to reach finals were Romania, the losing finalist in 1969 and 1972, and the Czech Republic, the winner in 1980.

?The 1994 tournament featured a record 109 nations, the largest international team competition in the world. 115 teams will take part in 1995 rounds.

?1994 final is the 16th to be played indoors, the ninth on a carpet surface.

?The home team has won the final 15 out of 21 times since 1972.


?Defeated 1993 finalists Australia in opening round in St. Petersburg, 4-1; Czech Republic in second round in St. Petersburg, 3-2; and Germany, 4-1 in Hamburg, Germany.

?Joined Davis Cup competition in 1962 as the Soviet Union. Best performances were semifinal appearances in 1974 and 1976.

?Russia is the seventh unseeded team to reach the Davis Cup finals. No unseeded team has won since seeding was introduced in 1981.


?Defeated Denmark in the opening round in Lund, Sweden, 5-0; France, 3-2, in Cannes, France; United States, 3-2, in Gothenburg, Sweden.

?Joined Davis Cup competition in 1925.

?Reached nine finals: 1975, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989. Winner in 1975, 1984, 1985, 1988.


?1975 zonal semifinals: Sweden 3, Russia 2.

?1982 World Group first round: Sweden 4, Russia 1.


Russia: Vadim Borisov. Named captain 1992. Record of 4-1 in previous Davis Cup matches. Played on Russia's Davis Cup teams from 1976 to 1984, with an overall record of 11-12 in singles and doubles matches. Lost to Mats Wilander in 1982 first round, 9-7, 6-1, 6-4. Thirty-nine years old.

Sweden: John Anders Sjogren. Named captain in 1989. Record of 12-5 in previous Davis Cup matches. Team reached finals in 1989, losing 3-2. Fifty-five years old. Will retire as captain after this finals.


?Punch bowl fashioned from 217 ounces of sterling silver in 1900.

?Worth $1,000 at its creation, it is now called ""priceless."" Two ""tiers"" have been added with silver engravings of each final result.

?Trophy's home is in London in the care of the International Tennis Federation. Winning countries are given replicas.