Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Best Driver Named

NEW YORK () -- Dale Earnhardt, who tied Richard Petty's seven NASCAR stock-car championships this year, has been voted Driver of Year by a panel of U.S. motorsports' journalists.

Earnhardt, 43, of Kannapolis, North Carolina, won four stock-car races this year beating Al Unser Jr. of New Mexico, the Indy 500 winner and CART Series Champion, in the ballot for the award which will be presented in December.

"I'm surprised and honored," said Earnhardt, who also won the title in 1987, on Thursday. "I've always felt the Driver of Year Award is the highest honor you can receive."