Get the latest updates as we post them — right on your browser

. Last Updated: 07/27/2016

Yeltsin Decree Toughens Stance on Tajik-Afghan Border

President Boris Yeltsin has issued a decree proposing a number of harsh measures directed at the protection of the border between Tajikistan and Afghanistan, with a view to the ultimate settlement of the Tajik-Afghan conflict.

In the decree signed Tuesday but published Thursday, Yeltsin ordered that extra troops and weapons be sent to Russian forces policing the Tajik-Afghan border. He also said he would appeal to the U. N. Security Council in order to draw the world community's attention to the situation on the troubled border.

Yeltsin's resolution was aimed at bringing peace and stability to the former Soviet republic, scene of a series of border clashes between Russian and Tajik border guards loyal to the government in Dushanbe, and Islamic rebels operating out of Afghanistan.

The decree primarily orders the strengthening of the Russian 201st motorized division located in Dushanbe. Since Thursday, large groups of Russian soldiers on contract have been enlisted into this division, which is involved in military operations against the Islamic opposition. The decree also provides for the filling up of vacancies in border guard detachments.

He urged the Defense Ministry to send "the necessary number of servicemen to strengthen military units of the Russian Federation" in Tajikistan.

According to the Yeltsin decree the Security Ministry should render assistance to the Tajik Interior Ministry to train their officers.

Yeltsin will ask also the U. N. Security Council to send international observers to the conflict zone and to bestow the status of peacekeeping forces to all Russian troops in the former Soviet republic.

Anatoly Adamishin, Yeltsin's envoy and first deputy foreign minister, arrived Thursday in Dushanbe in order to try to find some form of peaceful solutions for the increasingly violent conflict.

Adamishin's trip was intended to set up a four-sided meeting including representatives from Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and Afghanistan.