Today in History, April 17

WikicommonsA map showing the border between Russian America and the British territories.

188 years ago today, on April 17, 1825, the Britain and Russia signed a treaty to define the boundaries between Russian America and the British territories of the Pacific Northwest. The Russian territory, later sold to the Americans, was modern-day Alaska, while the British designated territory is modern-day British Columbia. Issues and discrepancies in the treaty later led to the Alaska Boundary Dispute, pitting the U.S. against Canada and Britain.