Strategic Investment Body Formed

Prime Minister Vladimir Putin on Wednesday approved a list of members for a government commission overseeing foreign investment in strategic sectors and put the Federal Anti-Monopoly Service in charge of regulation.

The commission will have 17 members and be chaired by Putin, the government said in a statement. Deputy Prime Minister Igor Shuvalov will serve as his deputy, and Federal Anti-Monopoly Service chief Igor Artemyev will be its secretary. The commission also includes three deputy prime ministers, seven ministers, and the heads of Rosatom, the Federal Space Agency, the FSB and the intergovernmental state-secrets commission.

In May, then-President Putin signed into law a bill creating 42 strategic sectors in which investment by foreigners is restricted.